PHALANX - THE NEW STANDARD IN EP -
STATE CERTIFIED
PRIVATE DETECTIVE / INVESTIGATOR 
 70 HOUR STATE MANDATED COURSE
Approved and Accredited Through the
Georgia Board of Private Detecive and Security Agencies and the
Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission

Per Georgia Administrative Rule 509-3-.06, all private detective license holders and registered private detective employees must complete a minimum of seventy hours of instruction from a Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies (GBPDSA) approved provider (State Certified Instructor) before being issued a state license. This course meets and exceeds the total 70-hour education requirement. Unlike an online course, this course allows direct interaction between the student, instructor and fellow classmates in order to gain a solid understanding of the role of the Private Detective/Investigator. This course is also an approved course of study through the Nonpublic Postsecondary Eduction Commission, which allows you to earn college/university credit towards a degree in Criminal Justice or Security Administration.
 
Course Requirements:
  • Criminal Background Check from Local Police Department
  • Clean Record with No Convictions (No Exceptions) 
  • State Issued Driver’s License
  • Military DD Form-214 or prior Security Training (if applicable)
  • Must be 21 years of age

Continuing Education Requirements:
In accordance with GA Rule 509-3-12 (Continuing Education) your Private Detective Certificate MUST be renewed annually (each year) to stay in compliance with continuing education rules. Contact this office for renewal instructions. phalalnxeps@aol.com 

Course Instructions:
 
This PI course is taught in five phases: (1) Orientation, (2) Research, 
(3) PI Book Review, (4) Review of all topics researched and (5) Pre-Test / Final Examination. Once you register for this course, course information will be emailed to you and the Chief Instructor will contact you personally to get you started. For more information, 
Email us at: phalanxeps@aol.com or call: 770-799-6471
 



   

 




   PRIVATE DETECTIVE GRADUATES               PRIVATE DETECTIVE STUDENTS

70 Hour State Mandated Private Detective / Investigator Course, Georgia Rule 509-3-.06
 
Course Outline
1. Georgia 509 Rules
2. History of the Private Investigations Industry
3. Ethics
4. Types of Investigations
5. Principal Georgia Misdemeanors and Felonies
6. Laws of Arrest (What Constitutes an Arrest)
7. Search & Seizure
8. Crime Scene Investigation
9. Process Serving
10. Sources of Information
11. Surveillance
12. Videography and Photography Methods
13. Proper Note Taking and Recording
14. Case Management and Report Writing
15. Rules of Evidence
16. Courtroom Testimony
17. Court Records Research
18. Criminal Defense Investigations
19. Undercover Investigations
20. Domestic Investigations
21. Insurance Fraud Investigations
22. White Collar Crime
23. Executive Protection
24. Proper Business Practices
25. Final Examination

Course Cost: $349.99
 
Upon successful completion of this course, the student will receive:
 
1. State Certified Private Detective Certificate of Training
2. Private Investigator Badge 
 

 
 
 
 
 
70 Hour State Mandated Private Detective Course
Full Tuition Cost: $349.99
 
 
 
 
Private Detective Re-Certification - $125.00
Certificate shipped within 48 hours



2 Day State Mandated Firearms Course - $199.99
Georgia Rule 509-3-.10 and 509-3-.11
This 16 hour curriculum is intended to meet or exceed the minimum requirements of the Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies. A passing score of 70% must be achieved.
Holders of weapon permits must qualify with the same type weapon carried. A minimum of 150 rounds (3 boxes of 50 rounds each), of ammunition must be fired as practice and two strings of 48 rounds with the highest score to be used for qualification.
A minimum of (16) hours of instruction is required for the firearm training curriculum for (semi-automatic) pistols, consisting of the following:
 
1. Use of deadly force to include, Georgia Laws 16-3-21 & 17-4-20, Official Code of Georgia Annotated. 1hr
2. Liability Issues, to include Georgia Laws 16-1-3(5), 16-1-3(6). 2hrs
3.Three situations which justify the use of deadly force, to include:
a. Defense of self from great bodily harm or death.
b. Defense of a third person from great bodily harm or death
c. To prevent the commission of a forcible felony.
4.Ballistics - 1hr
5. The History and  Development of the Semi-Automatic Pistol. 1hr
6. The Safety and Functional Operation of the Semi-Automatic Pistol. 2hrs
a. Operational Safety
b. Proper Loading and Unloading
c. Mechanical Safety
d. Magazine Removal and Insertion
e. Locking and Unlocking the Slide
7. Malfunctions, Causes and Methods for Clearing. 1hr
a. Failure to Feed
b. Failure to Fire
c. Failure to Extract (Double Feed)
d. Failure to Eject (Smoke Stack, Stove Pipe)
8. Firearm Range Qualification. 8hrs
a. Proper Stance
b. Proper Grip and Draw
c. Sight Alignment, Sight Picture and Trigger Control
d. Firearm Range Safety
e. Range Procedures and Rules of Conduct
f. Range Commands for Semi-Automatic Pistol
g. Course of Fire (Weapon Qualification)
 
Course Requirements:
  • Criminal Background Check from Local Police Department
  • Clean Record with No Convictions (No Exceptions) 
  • State Issued Driver’s License
  • Must be 21 years of age 
 
CONTACT CHIEF EARL SEEGARS AT 770-572-6474 TO ARRANGE TRAINING
REFERENCE DR. HOLIFIELD.

Additional Non-State Mandated Courses
 
8 Hour – OC Defensive Spray Training
8 Hour – Expandable Baton Training
8 Hour -  Unarmed Self Defense Training
8 Hour – Handcuff and Restraints Training
8 Hour -  Emergency First Aid
 
Note: You may also take the above "Non-State Mandated" courses separately. Upon successful completion of the above courses, student will receive Certificate of Training.
 
Course Cancellation and Refund Policy 
 
Tuition and/or any Registration fees are NON-REFUNDABLE.
If student notifies PHALANX prior to the start date of class to cancel, the paid fee(s) will go towards the next scheduled course or any other course that suits the student. If PHALANX cancels a scheduled class for any reason, the student will have the option of a full refund within (30 days) or rescheduling for the next class date.
 
PHALANX is not responsible for any additional expenses incurred by students due to course cancellation or the student canceling a course.